Report: Motley Staff

The 2016 National Student Media Awards took place last week in the Aviva Stadium.

The event, sponsored by KBC and organised annually by, was attended by more than 400 third level students, lecturers and Irish media professionals.

For the first time in the history of the awards, University College Cork was the most successful college, winning nine of the national awards in total.

Motley Magazine topped its category for the third year running and was awarded the title of Magazine of the Year.

In total, Motley secured eight of the nine honours awarded to UCC, including the People’s Choice Award, Editor of the Year (Ellen Desmond)  Short Story of the Year (Hannah Kingston), Blog of the Year (Robbie Byrne), News & Current Affairs Writer of the Year (Eoin McSweeney), Arts & Pop Culture Writer of the Year (Claire Fox), and the EU Commission Award (Claire Fox).

The UCC Express also swept the board on the night with a total of 13 nominations and a win in the Colour Writer of the Year category for designer Robert O’Sullivan.

The full list of winners can be read below: 

Final Year UCC student Adam O’Reilly at the KBC SMedias.

Small College Publication
Caitrin O’ Leary RSCI

Short Story Of The Year

Hannah Kingston UCC

Blog Of The Year
Robert Byrne UCC

Radio Production Of The Year- Arts & Features
Lauren Battersby DIT

Magazine of the Year
Motley Magazine, Ellen Desmond & team  UCC

Short Animation of the Year
Sean Cunningham Sinead O’ Regan, Darragh Herlihy, Ballyfermot College of Further Education

Colour Writer of the Year
Robert O’Sullivan (Dusty Rhodes) UCC

Sports Photographer of the Year
David Fogarty Griffith College Dublin

Flim Scripts of the Year
Anthony Mc Donagh DIT

Leiruchain Teilifse i nGaelige- Faisneis & Dramaiocht
Grace O Sullivan WIT

Website of the Year
The University Observer UCD

RSA Award for Journalism Relating to Road Safety

UCC's Ellen Desmond wins Editor of the Year, awarded by the Irish Independent's Fionnan Sheahan.
UCC’s Ellen Desmond wins Editor of the Year, awarded by the Irish Independent’s Fionnan Sheahan.

Danielle Maldonado Griffith College

News Photographer of the Year
Walter Cassidy LCFE

Layout & Design of the Year – Magazine
Patrice Brady DIT

Layout & Design of the Year – Newspapers
Nikita Rane RCSI

Short Film of the Year
Greg Byrne And Stephen McKenna Colaiste Dhulaigh College Of Further Education

T.V Production of the Year
Claudia Verecchia Griffith College Dublin

Features Writer of the Year- Arts & Pop Culture
Claire Fox UCC

Radio DJ of the Year
William Nolan UL

Iriseoireacht tri Ghaeilge (Scríofa)
Cal Ó Donnabháin DCU

Radio Documentary of the Year

Claire Fox, an English and French student at UCC, wins two individual awards.
Claire Fox, an English and French student at UCC, wins two individual awards.

Jack Knox IADT

Journalist of the Year- National Press
Wayne O’ Connor UL

Radio Production of the Year- News & Current Affairs
Alva Egan DIT- Aungier ST

Features Writer of the Year- News & Current Affairs
Eoin McSweeney UCC

Iriseoreacht tri Ghaeilge (Raidió)
Bronagh Ni Chuilinn,Adam, Nollaig, Aoife & Dearbhla NUIG

Journalist of the Year- Radio
Alva Egan DIT- Aungier St

RTE2 New Voices
Soraiya Ryan

People’s Choice Award
Motley Magazine, Ellen Desmond & team, UCC

Sports Writer of the Year
Conall Cahill UCD

European Commission Award
Claire Fox UCC

Irish Times Student Hub Award
Fionn Rogan TCD

UCD’s University Observer win ‘Newspaper of the Year.’

KBC Achievement of the Year
Niamh Geoghegan DIT

Journalist of the Year
Sarah Taafe Maguire TCD

Photographer of the Year
James Keown Griffith College Dublin

Editor of the Year
Ellen Desmond UCC

Newspaper of the Year
The University Observer, Grainne Loughran, Sean O’Reilly & team, UCD